Stuffed Spicy Style

9 08 2009
Stuffed Peppers...waiting to be cooked.

Stuffed Peppers...waiting to be cooked.

I have become a crock pot addict.

Last week I purchased the cookbook: “Best-Loved Slow Cooker Recipes”. I love to read and I love a great number of books, but there is something about this cookbook that makes me really excited every time I open it. Perhaps it is the fact that it contains many somewhat basic recipes that have a lot of potential…definitely great for experimenting. Another nice feature is that many (almost all) of the recipes are accompanied by a full color photo of the prepared meal. This cookbook also lies flat when open at any page, which while cooking, is admittedly quite an awesome feature.

Tonight I made the “Southwestern Stuffed Peppers” which turned out pretty well. They weren’t as spicy as I was hoping for, but the original recipe was not meant for spicy-ness. Below is the recipe with the changes that I made. (you can find the original recipe in the book – sold at Target)

4 green bell peppers (I tried a yellow one too)
1 can (15 ounces) black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup shredded mexican cheese blend
1 cup salsa
1/2 cup frozen corn (white and yellow blend)
1/2 cup uncooked long-grain rice
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 pinch of brown sugar
1/4 cup Cholula hot sauce
1 (4 oz) can of chopped green chilis
1/4 cup green salsa
topped with Frank’s hot sauce

Directions: cut tops off of the bell peppers, remove the seeds and membrane, leave the pepper whole. Combine the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and mix. Pour the mixture into each pepper. Place the peppers in the crock pot. Cook on low for 4-6 hours. Serve with Frank’s hot sauce or sour cream.

I think next time I might chop up an anaheim pepper and add it into the mix. Mmm…spicy.

Enjoy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

